1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Voices of Our Ancestors


   Are you interested in learning the Dakota language and becoming a Dakota language speaker?  Are you interested in pursuing a career as a Dakota language instructor?

The Nebraska Indian Community College is taking applications for a 2-year project titled Voices of Our Ancestors: Dakota Language Immersion which seeks to foster the development of participating Santee Sioux Tribal members into proficient Dakota Language Instructors.

Voices of Our Ancestors: Dakota Language Immersion is a collaborative project between Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Fort Peck Community College, Nebraska Indian Community College, Sisseton Wahpeton College, and the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community.

If Interested, You Must Be Willing To:

  • Become a Dakota Language Learner
  • Make a 2-year Commitment (Through the duration of the program)
  • Travel for Cohort gatherings, including orientation session in August 2017
  • Attend classes, as scheduled, to progressively learn the Dakota language
  • Learn to, and use, technology
  • Sign a participation agreement

Seeking 4 Santee Sioux Tribal Member participants (2 Female, 2 Male):

Participants will be full-time NICC student- employees with salary and benefits. NICC Employment policies apply and expectations and goals will be outlined in signed participation agreement. All required materials will be provided and required travel expenses will be covered.

Press Release

VOA Dakota Immersion Instructor Posting

VOA Dakota Learner Posting

For information regarding job descriptions for both language learner and instruction positions as well as any other information about the program please contact Native American Studies Division Head Carlton LeCount at (402) 241-5930 or CLeCount@thenicc.edu.

NICC May 2017 Newsletter

"The Right Direction"

May Newsletter


Summer Semester


Campus closed June 23rd-26th for Santee Pow Wow

June 29th Last day of summer semester

Concerned about paying for College? Come talk to our staff to find out about grant, scholarship and work study opportunities!

Complete your application for American Indian College Fund at www.collegefund.org

Complete your FAFSA at www.fafsa.ed.gov

NICC 2017 Summer Classes in short:

Business Law


Omaha & Dakota Language


Native American History


Math Foundations

Environmental Issues  

College Math & Algebra


Please Bring the Following Items with you...

  • 2016 Income Verification
  • Official High School/GED/College Transcripts
  • Official Tribal Enrollment Verification (If Applicable)